What made me happy


Citibank announced closing down its Retail Banking Operations in Pakistan – this was sad news but with this opened an opportunity for me to be in the limelight. From that day onwards, I was assigned some of the major roles and responsibilities for smooth business closure. I received reward and recognition from all the senior management and it was source of great content. We had hectic days and night; we all were overworked but we knew we were the ‘last men standing’ that the organization was counting on.

Untitled

I met with some of my long lost friends from the University and it was wonderful experience sitting with them at our favorite coffee shop; reminiscing old times and the crazy stupid things we used to do. We all enjoyed our favorite foods and music together and we cherished each other’s company after so long.

Last night, I went to a friend’s wedding planning ceremony; there was bar-b-que, dance floor and some really good music. We danced till we dropped and yet it was not enough. It was heartening to see the bride-to-be so happy and excited with her wedding preparations and the way she wanted each one of her friends to participate in the wedding dances and all.

As I resigned from the bank; I had mixed emotions, some nostalgia and a freedom to pursue greater opportunity. My first day after resignation and I received an interview call from this large company in the UAE; I couldn’t thank my Lord less for all the blessings. My interview was a success and I got my offer letter just two days later. Today, I’m happy that I have a new job and my parents are happy I have a firm standing.

I bought my mother some new clothes and accessories for my mom and dad for their 31st wedding anniversary. The pleased look on their face gave me immense pleasure and I would do just anything to see that look on their face.

 

Leave a Reply

